Thursday, May 22, 2008

Cervical Canceer

What is cervical cancer?

The cervix is the neck of the uterus that opens into the vagina. Cervical cancer is one of the most common affecting to women. Once the cancer appears it can progress through four stages. The stages are defined by the extent of spread of the cancer. The more cancer has spread, the more extensive the treatment is likely to be.

How is it diagnosed?

Your health care provider will take a Pap smear. During this test, your provider will use a spatula and brush to gently scrape cells from the cervix. The cells are spread across the glass slide. This slide is sent to a lab where the cells are examined.


Early cervical cancer usually no symptoms. The cancer is usually detected by a Pap smear and pelvic exam. This is why women should start having Pap smear and pelvic exams as soon as they become sexually active.
Eventually, a woman who has a cervical cancer will notice abnormal vaginal bleeding or a bloodstrained discharge or unexpected times, such as between menstrual periods, after intercourse, or after menopause. Abnormal vaginal discharge may be cloudy or bloody or may contain mucus with a bad odor. Advanced stages of the cancer may cause pain.

No comments: